Gold Making Tips for those Continuing to Play WoW

After finishing my final paper, I just thought that I would share some gold making tips that I used or came across while playing/researching. I made about 1700 gold using the auction house during the month of play without too much effort, and I would like to share some tips so that anyone who continues to play WoW can make some gold as well. Personally, I made almost all of this gold utilizing the mining profession by initially mining copper ore, smelting into bars, and selling them on the auction house. When I was capable of smelting bronze bars(which require 1 copper and 1 tin bar), I realized on the auction house that bronze bars were selling anywhere from 2-4 gold each, when you can purchase copper ore/bars and tin ore/bars for about 1 gold each or less. Buying both the copper and bronze bar required only cost about 2 gold, and smelting these together create 2 bronze bars, worth anywhere between 4 and 8 gold total depending on the supply and demand at the time. I used this basic idea and bought other ores like silver or iron when the price of the bar was more than the price of the ore, but bronze bars worked best for me, most likely due to their availability. When you acquire some gold, you can then purchase bronze bars from other competitors if they are selling them low, and resell them for a higher price when there is less competition. I only played around with ores and bars, but I’m sure that this can be done with other materials obtained from professions and other items in general.

Another key thing that helped me sell and buy items was the auctioneer add on. It basically simplifies the auction house, showing per unit prices of every item and helps you set bid and buyout prices that undercut competitors. Definitely worth getting if you plan on using the auction house more. It can be found on this site. I also stumbled across a gold strategy guide in Pitt’s library database, and it has some interesting information as well if anybody is interested. A link can be found here. Good luck earning gold!

This entry was posted in World of Warcraft and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

