Quests as Procedure

I want to look at how the quests are set up and how you interact with each member in the game to complete those quests. I want to make the argument that quests give World of Warcraft (WoW) the meaning of leveling up throughout the game to become a more experienced player and to gain different armors, healing potions, etc. This is my first time playing WoW and I have found it to be quite similar to the Grand Theft Auto games in that you have to complete missions to continue the game and eventually beat it. But in WoW you just gain experience from each quest (mission) and level up after so much experience is gained and then you can play in different parts of Azeroth as your level increases. I have the quests to be quite interesting to me and addicting actually because every time I see that yellow exclamation point above a character’s head, I just want to complete that mission, so I can level up and do another mission that is more challenging. Quests are easy way to gain experience. All you have to do is find a character who has a yellow question mark above their head, then right click them to learn about the quest they have for you, then follow the arrow on the minimap to the location of the quest and complete the quest. To complete the quest, you usually have to kill so many beast or monsters and/or collect something from that beast or monster. For example, one quest I remember was called Crocolisk, I think, and it was in the Redridge Mountains. I had to kill 8 Crocolisks and return their intact jaws and skull to the quest giver, I can’t remember his name, in Lakeshire. I had to right click on the dead Crocolisk and pick up its intact jaw and skull, then when I had all 8 I had to return to the quest giver, who now has a yellow question mark above his head, and right click on him and click complete quest giving him the jaws and skulls and in return I receive the experience, money and gift, if offered. In addition to gaining experience, some quest givers offer money and/or a gift, like armor or a weapon or a healing potion of some sort. Pretty simple how quests work and they are an easy way to gain experience and level up to become a better WoW player.

Video games are actions according to Alexander Galloway in “Gamic Action, Four Moments” because he says, “With video games, the work itself is material action. One plays a game. And the software runs” (2). He was explaining how video games are actions compare to actors acting in movies and people taking photographs. So based on that and knowing how quests work, quests are an action of the game. They are an action because, in my example, I play the quest and the software runs the data needed for that quest, so I can complete the quest and gain the experience, money and gift. The software and I play the game together and that is what makes video games an action: the machine and operator playing together. Leveling up is an essential part of the game and an easy way to do it is by completing quests.

This entry was posted in Reading Response and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quests as Procedure

  1. cso9 says:

    This is my first time playing World of Warcraft, as well, and I can certainly agree it can easily become addicting! You had stated that there’s a sort of excitement in seeing that yellow question mark or exclamation point appear, and it’s difficult to avoid partaking in it. For me, leveling up has also become an addiction. I get a feeling of success every time I see/hear those flames rise up around my character, rewarding her with a new level! This sort of positive reinforcement is what causes us to play more. While the software runs its part, providing the quests and the opportunities for leveling up, the gamers do their part by playing.

    I would have liked to hear more of your opinion on interacting with other players in the game, as you had stated in the beginning! This aspect of the game, in my opinion, is an important one because it is unlike any other game I’ve played. In my experience, games have always been about competition. You were either against other players, or it was you against the game. The only opportunity for working with another player in a game, for me, was in Super Smash Brothers, when you could choose a player to team up with, or in Mario Party, where the game automatically decided who you could team with. The neat thing about World of Warcraft is how you can personally choose anyone to team up with, any number of players, with no consequences. If your teammate died, it doesn’t affect you (unless you’re a healer…). On the flip side, if your teammate gains experience, coins, or items, you benefit from it by getting a share of the loot. Furthermore, I think it’s pretty cool how the Alliance is one, huge team in itself. You’re not fighting against the other players, you’re either fighting with them, or embarking on your own quests in the Alliance’s favor. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yuc46 says:

    It is my first time to play Wow. Similarity like you, I also really like completing different kinds of quests. Instead of getting higher level or gain better equipment, I am more interested in riding my horses and run different parts of the map. The background of each is really nice and vivid. Through the quests, I can learn the history of Azeroth and I pretty enjoy it.

    Like

  3. useltime says:

    I too am a “noob” when it comes to playing World of Warcraft and I have also become addicted to the leveling up and quest completion you have described. Your comparison to Grand Theft Auto was nice in that instead of collecting money and buying nicer cars and nicer houses you buy new armor and learn new skills. A parallel that I happen to disagree with is the completion of the game of World of Warcraft. While grand theft auto can be completed with the final “game over” and he credits roll by, I find that I am allured to the idea that you can never really “beat” World of Warcraft (I may be mistaken but if you can you can keep playing with your character). One point that the apparently never ending exclamation points bring to my mind has to do with the new expansion packs and updates that are offered for the game. This follows that one may never actually be able to see,fight or complete everything in the game and the game really does evolve and develop as your character does. It is for this reason that I believe that a person can play this game year after years for hours on end, just as the expansion of the game never stops; neither does the gamer’s interest in playing.

    Like

  4. Dandy Mott says:

    It’s interesting to see what other people think about quests! I know that before level 15, I would accept every single quest that I saw, in order to gain experience and get rewards. However, after 15, I completed my first dungeon and stopped questing pretty much completely after that, except for the quests in the dungeons. I found that I gained a ton of experience and got better items than quests, so I have been doing those to level up almost exclusively. I also agree that Warcraft can become addicting. I remember that I wanted to keep doing dungeons last week, but I was at the upper limit of the level cap so I had to stop. After doing like 2 more this week, I’m already getting close to the level cap and now I think I’m going to continue with some quests to slow down a little.

    Like

Leave a Reply

