Pynchon on The Simpsons

Hey all!! Here’s links to Thomas Pynchon poking fun at his reclusive nature on The Simpsons. The episodes are “Diatribe of a Mad Housewife” and “All is Fair in Oven War,” and it turns out he even voiced himself, which is great.

Tommy_P_Simpsons

Thomas Pynchon as he appears in “Diatribe of a Mad Housewife.”

About Gabriel Kowalczyk

Sort of a person. I say things. I like things other people say. I put it all here.
This entry was posted in General Interest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pynchon on The Simpsons

  1. riderphilze says:

    The Simpsons is my favorite TV show, and Thomas Pynchon’s portrayal is one of my favorite guest spots. I thought he’d appeared in at least one more episode prior to “Diatribe,” but even my knowledge about the show can’t be perfect.
    Though it should be noted that I’d never heard of Pynchon before he appeared on The Simpsons. I might have known about Gravity’s Rainbow, but it’s also entirely possible that I didn’t know about it until the “Gravity’s Rainbow Cookbook” line.

    Like

  2. cso9 says:

    I have to admit, I love the feeling of being able to recognize a reference in the media or television that I had learned in class. It makes the show that much more enjoyable when you can understand their quirks.

    I don’t know if you have ever seen the show “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” or “Angel,” but these shows are great examples of how enriching a quality education can be. The plots are often historically based, so while it’s neat watch the action, it’s also fulfilling to put together the subtle pieces that make you realize how well-thought out it really is.

    Like

Leave a Reply

